Workshop Presenters

The EAP Education Committee is delighted to present our speakers for our 2021 annual meeting.

While attendees are encouraged to attend all workshops, due to the time zones and personal obligations, attendees can select workshops at their leisure.

All times presented are in U.S. Central Time.

Friday, April 16, 2021, 8:00 PM – 9:00 PM Central Time

Leading Change

If you want what you’ve never had, you must do what you’ve never done. Promoting organizational change is a communication process that requires managers to become leaders. This presentation will explore the different rates at which groups adopt change as well as strategies for leaders to successfully introduce new initiatives into their organizations.

Adam Hathaway, PRPAdam Hathaway, PRP is the Parliamentarian as well as Immediate Past President of the New Mexico State Association of Parliamentarians. He currently serves on the NAP Board as a Director-at-Large.  Adam has taught leadership and parliamentary procedure classes at the national, state and local levels, both in person and virtually. His parliamentary clients include non-profit organizations, government agencies, boards and committees and a federal credit union. He holds a Master’s Degree in Public Administration and a Bachelor’s Degree in Organizational Communication.

Saturday, April 17, 2021, 11:35 PM – 12:35 PM Central Time

PIVOT: An Exploration of Leading Through Change

Change is inevitable! Disruptions, whether planned, unplanned, internal, or external can be impactful. A leader’s ability to assess, adapt and pivot is essential to a thriving organization. This workshop will explore organizational disruptions and transformational solutions.

Beth James, PRP

Beth Sapp James, PRP has been a member of the National Association of Parliamentarians (NAP) since 2010, a professionally registered parliamentarian since 2017. Beth holds master’s degrees in project management and business administration.

Ms. James has served in many local, state and national positions, including the Charter President of Gulf Coast Parliamentarians (2011), Electronic Association of Parliamentarians (EAP) Charter Secretary (2017-2019), unexpired term of EAP Treasurer (December 2018 – March 2019), Green Gavel Electronic Unit (GGEU) Charter First Vice-President (2017-2019), NAP Professional Development Committee Member (2017-2019) and the National Alumnae Association of Spelman College (NAASC) Parliamentarian (2016-2020). Current positions include EAP Vice President, GCP Treasurer, GGEU President, NAASC Houston Chapter Parliamentarian and Gulf Coast Apollo (TX) Chapter, The Links Incorporated Parliamentarian.

Saturday, April 17, 2021, 1:20 PM – 2:20 PM Central Time

Building it Again: Leading A Bylaws Revision

One of the organizational constants that we all work with are the bylaws. But what happens when that “constant” document needs a significant change?  You revise those bylaws. This workshop will give you a blueprint to “build it again!” — identifying areas for change, putting together the “construction team,” communicating with members and obtaining buy-in, all with an eye toward successfully adopting that bylaws revision, and embracing that constant of change.

Kay Crews, CPP, PRP has pursued the study of parliamentary procedure for well over a decade and was named the 2011 Parliamentarian of the Year by the Texas State Association of Parliamentarians. Active professionally, she served as the 2013-2014 President of the Texas State Association of Parliamentarians and is active with the National Association of Parliamentarians as well, where she has served as Convention Technologist for each Convention since 2009, when she was the first to serve the national organization in that way.  She is actively associated with parliamentary study units in Dallas, and has conducted parliamentary workshops across the US, and in Canada.

Her national client base includes government entities, business and professional organizations, alumni associations, labor unions, political parties, homeowner associations, and religious and charitable organizations.

Kay holds the credentials of Certified Professional Parliamentarian from the American Institute of Parliamentarians and Professional Registered Parliamentarian from the National Association of Parliamentarians and led the 2020 Joint Committee to Review the Code of Ethics.