Board of Directors

The board of directors consists of the four officers who are elected biennially in odd-numbered years. The board of directors sets the general direction of the association subject to the orders of the membership.

Beth James, PRP


Beth S. James, PRP

Beth S. James, PRP of League City, Texas has been a member of the National Association of Parliamentarians (NAP) since 2010, a professionally registered parliamentarian since 2017. Ms. James has served in many local and association positions, including the Charter President of Gulf Coast Parliamentarians (2011), Electronic Association of Parliamentarians (EAP) Charter Secretary (2017-2019), the unexpired term of EAP Treasurer (December 2018 – March 2019), and EAP Vice President (2019-2021), NAP Professional Development Committee Member (2017-2019), and National Alumnae Association of Spelman College Immediate Past Parliamentarian (2016-2020). Current positions include Green Gavel Electronic Unit President and Gulf Coast Apollo (TX) Chapter, The Links Incorporated Parliamentarian.

Vice President

Lee Woodward, PRP

Lee Woodward, PRP, of Texas is the city secretary and public information officer for the City of La Porte. She is the 2021 Secretary for the Texas Municipal Clerks Association, Inc. and an instructor at their annual Election Law Seminar. Woodward holds credentials as a Texas Registered Municipal Clerk, Texas Certified Public Manager through the William P. Hobby Center, and Professional Registered Parliamentarian with the National Association of Parliamentarians. She is a member of the Texas Association of Municipal Information Officers, Texas City Management Association, Texas Women Leading Government, the National Association for Media Literacy Education, and the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution. She serves as an instructor of parliamentary procedure for the Texas Municipal League’s Newly Elected Officials Conference; holds the Master Municipal Clerk and Certified Municipal Clerk designations and is an Athenian Dialogue Society Fellow and Facilitator with the International Institute of Municipal Clerks; and is a member of the Texas State Association of Parliamentarians, Electronic Association of Parliamentarians, and the American Institute of Parliamentarians. Woodward is completing a Master of Liberal Arts with Johns Hopkins University.


Thomas Holmes
Rhode Island

Thomas Holmes of Rhode Island has been a student member of the National Association of Parliamentarians (NAP) since 2017. He serves the eNAP Unit as president but has also served in the past as vice president, secretary, chair of the membership committee, and chair of the education committee. He has served as chair of the nominating committee for the New England Association of Parliamentarians and currently serves as secretary. He served as a member of the EAP Education Committee.

Acting Treasurer

Beth James, PRP